USB-C Monitors for the Mac mini M4: Four Flat 32-Inch Models Compared
As of July 2026. This post was backfilled with that date and compares spec sheets, not measurements. Prices are not listed because they cannot be documented, and prices and availability may have changed since, so check both with a retailer.
According to Apple's technical overview, the Mac mini M4 has three Thunderbolt 4 ports and one HDMI output. Video leaves the Thunderbolt ports as DisplayPort 1.4. A monitor with USB-C can therefore carry the picture and the USB peripherals over a single cable.
What a USB-C Monitor Does for a Mac mini
The Mac mini draws power from its own power supply, so the monitor's Power Delivery rating has no effect on it. It only matters when a laptop charges from the same monitor.
A USB hub in the monitor matters more, with keyboard, mouse and webcam plugged into it. Anyone who connects a second computer as well benefits from a KVM switch that moves the peripherals between the two machines.
The Four Monitors at a Glance
All figures come from the manufacturer pages and manual, retrieved in July 2026. A dash means the page does not state the value.
| Dell U3223QE | BenQ PD3205U | ASUS PA329CV | LG 32UN880-B | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diagonal | 31.5 in | 32 in | 32 in | 31.5 in |
| Resolution | 3840 × 2160 | 3840 × 2160 | 3840 × 2160 | 3840 × 2160 |
| USB-C Power Delivery | 90 W | 90 W | 90 W | 60 W |
| KVM switch | yes | yes | – | – |
| Colour gamut | 100% sRGB, 98% DCI-P3 | 99% sRGB | 100% sRGB, DCI-P3 | 95% DCI-P3 (typical) |
| HDR | – | HDR10 | DisplayHDR 400 | HDR10 |
Dell UltraSharp U3223QE
According to the Dell manual, the U3223QE has a 31.5-inch IPS panel at 3840 × 2160 with a typical contrast of 2000:1, about twice the usual IPS figure of roughly 1000:1. The gamut is 100% sRGB and 98% DCI-P3, with a factory accuracy of Delta E below 2.
One USB-C port carries DisplayPort 1.4 and up to 90 W of Power Delivery. A second USB-C upstream port at 10 Gbit/s serves the KVM switch. There are also four USB-A ports, an RJ45 jack and a quick-access USB-C port (15 W). The manual notes that Ethernet only works once the USB cable from the computer is connected.
On paper the Dell has the fullest feature set. For a Mac mini plus a Windows laptop on one monitor, it is the obvious candidate.
BenQ PD3205U
The BenQ product page lists the PD3205U as a 32-inch 4K display with 99% sRGB, HDR10, 90 W USB-C and a built-in KVM switch, operated with the Hotkey Puck G2. BenQ also names an M-book mode that is meant to match the colours of Mac and MacBook Pro displays.
The page does not state the panel type or VESA support. Older lists show the name PD3205UA, but no manufacturer page for it could be found.
ASUS ProArt Display PA329CV
The ASUS page describes a 32-inch IPS panel with 4K resolution, 100% sRGB, 100% Rec. 709 and DCI-P3 support. It is factory calibrated to Delta E below 2 and verified with Calman. USB-C delivers 90 W over DisplayPort, and HDR is specified as VESA DisplayHDR 400 at up to 400 cd/m².
ASUS does not mention a KVM switch. According to the page, the stand has an integrated VESA mount. For photo and video work on a Mac mini, this model brings the calibrated colour values, but a desk with two computers lacks the switch.
LG 32UN880-B
The LG is the only candidate with an Ergo stand. According to the LG product page, tilt, height, swivel, pivot and extend/retract are adjustable. The panel is a 31.5-inch IPS at 4K and 60 Hz with HDR10 and 95% DCI-P3 (typical, 90% minimum).
USB-C supplies 60 W of Power Delivery at 3840 × 2160 and 60 Hz. There are also two HDMI ports, one DisplayPort 1.4 and two USB 3.0 downstream ports. No KVM switch is listed. LG also states a 100 × 100 mm VESA mount.
Ports Besides USB-C
Anyone who prefers to connect the Mac mini by HDMI or DisplayPort has documented options on two models. According to its manual, the Dell has a DisplayPort 1.4 with DSC, a DisplayPort output and an HDMI 2.0 input. The LG has two HDMI ports and one DisplayPort 1.4. The retrieved BenQ and ASUS pages give no detail on this.
The Mac mini's Thunderbolt ports output video as DisplayPort 1.4, and the LG states 3840 × 2160 at 60 Hz for USB-C. The cable path for 4K at 60 Hz is therefore covered.
What to Check During Setup
The Dell needs two cables if the KVM switch is to be used: one USB-C cable for picture and Power Delivery, and a second for the KVM upstream port. The manual describes the two ports separately. The Ethernet jack and the monitor's USB ports also only work while a USB cable to the computer is connected.
According to the manual, the Dell ships without an RJ45 cable. If the Mac mini is meant to reach the network through the monitor's jack, the cable has to be bought separately.
Which Monitor for Which Use
For a Mac mini alone, any of the four will do. Three questions help with the choice.
If a second computer shares the keyboard and mouse with the Mac mini, the Dell U3223QE or the BenQ PD3205U fit, because both have a KVM switch. The Dell adds RJ45 and the higher 2000:1 contrast.
If colour work comes first, the factory calibration of the ASUS ProArt PA329CV speaks for it. The Dell also states Delta E below 2, though.
If desk space matters, the LG's Ergo stand is the reason to pick it. Its USB-C port is rated 60 W instead of 90 W, which has no effect on a Mac mini.
Before buying, check current prices and the availability of the exact model with a retailer.
Further Reading
Does the Mac mini M4 need Power Delivery from the monitor?+
No. The Mac mini has its own power supply. The wattage of the USB-C port only matters once a laptop also charges from the same monitor.
Which of the four monitors have a KVM switch?+
According to the manufacturer pages, the Dell U3223QE (with a second USB-C upstream port for KVM) and the BenQ PD3205U. The ASUS ProArt PA329CV and LG 32UN880-B pages list no KVM switch.
Does this comparison include 40-inch monitors?+
No. All four are 32-inch models. There is no verified data or pricing on flat 40-inch models, so they are left out.
senn-tech